Malawi is a small landlocked country in southeast central Africa and is one of the least developed countries in the world.  Bordered by Mozambique to the east, Zambia to the west, and Tanzania to the north, Malawi was formerly a British Protectorate known as Nyasaland. Since 1964, Malawi has been an independent nation and a member of the British Commonwealth.

The country is dominated by Lake Malawi (also known as Lake Nyasa) which covers almost a fifth of Malawi’s total area.  Malawi is divided into three regions – the Northern, the Central, and the Southern – and into twenty-four districts. The capital city of the country is Lilongwe, located in the central region.

Malawi is often called the ‘warm heart of Africa’ because of its beautiful scenery and the friendliness of its people.

Country Statistics:

  • Population: 15, 879, 252 (July 2011 Estimate)
  • Capital: Lilongwe
  • Area: 118 484 sq km (45 747 sq miles)
  • Languages: English and Chichewa (both official)
  • Religion: Protestant 55%, Catholic 20%, Muslim 20% Other beliefs 5%
  • Life expectancy: 41.93 years Men: 41.45years Women (2006 est.)
  • Infant mortality per 1000: 94.37 deaths
  • Poverty: 55% below poverty line (2004)
  • Currency: As of February 11, 2009 – 1.40 Malawi kwacha (MK) = 63 pence (UK)
  • Exports: Tobacco, tea, sugar, cotton

For all up to date statistics, please visit:Â part of the World News Network:

Government of Malawi website:

The Nation, Malawi’s leading newspaper:

Tourism in Malawi: /

For a satellite view of the villages we operate out of, please visit: